Adenosine Triphosphate (ATP)

ATP (Adenosine Triphosphate) consists of adenosine which is composed of adenine ring and a ribose sugar. It also contains three phosphate groups called as triphosphate.

The phosphoryl groups named as alpha (α), beta (β), and gamma (γ) phosphates. It is named according to ribose sugar such as alpha (α) closest to ribose and gamma (γ) phosphates are far from ribose.

ATP is called as energy currency of cell and energy is released by hydrolysis of the third phosphate group. When this third phosphate is released then ADP (adenosine diphosphate) results. ADP after absorbing energy, regenerate ATP molecule.

The sugars present in the nucleotide are known as ribose or deoxyribose.

Deoxyribose sugar present in nucleotide that starts with “deoxy,” such as deoxyadenosine monophosphate (dAMP). In case of ribose sugar, the molecule is called as adenosine monophosphate (AMP).

Glucose is the main source of ATP in the respiration of cell .

Which sachharide is present in ATP
a) deoxyribose
b) ribose
c) glucose
d) dextrose

Answer: b) ribose

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.