Microorganisms- Classification and Uses

Microorganisms- Classification and Uses

Microorganisms are living things with a tiny size that can exist in both liquid and solid forms. There are about 7 main classifications of microorganisms: algae, protozoans, eukaryotes, prokaryotes, bacteria, fungi, and viruses. Each class of microorganism has a specific characteristic cell structure, shape, and form. Most of the microorganisms belong to one of these classes. Some examples of the major classifications are mentioned below.

The first of the seven major categories of microorganisms is the microorganism in its specific environment. The environment of the microorganism refers to the physical and chemical conditions in which the microbe grows. For example, all bacteria are naturally microbially restricted to some degree, while all viruses are virtually restricted. All eukaryotes are eukaryotic, while all metalloids are protoid.

Microorganisms play important roles in nature in terms of how they use energy, for what they do for us in the form of waste, how they produce their food, etc. In fact, the whole life process depends on microorganisms. Examples of microorganisms in nature are shown below.


All plants and animals need sunlight to photosynthesize, which is why humans must get exposure to sunlight in order to live. However, humans have adapted to survive under the sun by using artificial means to produce artificial sunlight. Photosynthesis thus plays an important role in all plants and animals’ health. Other examples of photosynthesizing microorganisms are the chlorophyll-producing bacteria in green leafy plants, the eukaryotic plasma polymerase, the photosynthetic complexes and the eukaryotic gene regulation.

Bacteria and other infectious disease causing organisms

All microorganisms may belong to one of three major categories: prokaryotes, eukaryotic and metalloid. Prokaryotes are single-celled organisms, whereas metalloids are multi-celled organisms. Examples of bacterial, parasitic and fungal infections are presented in the main articles on microbiology.


Archaea are present in the fossiliferous remains and can be regarded as prehistoric living things. Some examples of archaea are shown below.


Eukaryotes can be divided into two subtypes, the eukaryoplankton and the eukaryotes. These two types of eukaryotes are considered to be single-celled organisms having a cell wall. The first cell of the eukaryotic is called the nucleus, while the second cell is called the proenzyme.


Fungi are classified as either unicellular or multicellular. There are more than a thousand different species of fungi and they can be classified as a spirochete, dermatophytes, saprophytes, endophytes, candida, moulds, spirocysts and others. Fungi can exist individually or in groups depending on their reproductive strategies. Examples of microorganisms that produce a product that could be fermented are shown below.

Model Organisms

The main article above mentioned fungi are considered to be microorganisms but the model organisms should not be confused with them. The main distinction between the two is that microorganisms grow by means of an external environment and the model organisms grow by an internal environment only. The examples of microorganisms are shown below.

Human Health Model Organisms

The main articles above named above are considered to be model organisms because they reproduce by means of an external environment and human health is a term that was used to designate all of these microorganisms. The main diseases caused by these microorganisms include diabetes, arthritis, heart disease, chronic fatigue syndrome, Parkinson’s disease, irritable bowel syndrome, food allergies, osteoporosis, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease and irritable bowel syndrome.

Microbial Diversity

Diversity refers to the existence of differences among samples from a sample of the same environment. The microorganisms caused the diseases in the article above. The diversity of the microbial world is one of the principal concepts of microbiology.

Microorganisms and Their Functions

The major functions of microorganisms are categorized as metabolic, nutritional, protective, motility and growth. The major parts of microorganisms are described in the second paragraph of the article above. All of the types of microorganisms are classified as single-celled protozoans, prokaryotes, unicellular algae, and other forms of algae and bacteria. In order to explain the relationship between microorganisms and their living examples, it is important to first define what microorganisms are. This type of organisms includes both animal and plant cells, but animal cells are usually referred to as microorganisms.

Read also:

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link